No need to wait until August to see the moon blot out a star.

    It can't get much better than this: an occultation of the brightest star the Moon ever crosses, visible across most of the U.S. on a Saturday evening, with the Moon barely first-quarter (46% sunlit), and the star's dark-side disappearance visible without optical aid.

    Los Angeles, disappearance 7:08 p.m. PST, reappearance 8:27 p.m. PST

    Seattle, d. 7:21 p.m., r. 7:50 p.m. PST

    Denver, d. 8:33 p.m., r. 9:33 p.m. MST

    Chicago, d. 9:57 p.m., r. 10:33 p.m. CST

    Austin, d. 9:44 p.m., r. 10:52 p.m. CST

    Atlanta, d. 10:56 p.m., r. 11:52 p.m. EST

    Miami, d. 11:03 p.m., r. 12:02 a.m. EST

    Pittsburgh, d. 11:03 p.m., r. 11:36 p.m. EST

    Washington, DC, d. 11:04 p.m., r. 11:39 p.m. EST

    New York, d. 11:10 p.m. EST, r. 11:31 p.m. EST

    Miami, d. 11:03 p.m., r. 12:02 a.m.




posted by wasoxygen: 592 days ago