After 1718, Peter established colleges in place of the old central agencies of government. The new agencies were originally nine in number: Foreign affairs, war, navy, expense, income, justice, inspection. Later others were added. Each college consisted of a president, a vice-president and a number of councilors, assessors in addition to one procurator. Some foreigners were included in various colleges but not as president. Peter believed he did not have enough loyal and talented persons to put them in full charge of the different departments. Peter preferred to rely on groups of individuals who would keep check on one another. Decisions depended on the majority vote.


"Hmmm... he died of bladder problems. That's not nearly cool enough. Let's make up a story about him saving some drowning soldiers and say that this is what caused the return of his bladder infection. That's way cooler."

-How history is made.

posted by francopoli: 346 days ago